The Cabinet has today decided to confer awards of honour and awards of recognition for outstanding service to the public as a national award, starting from this year’s Republic Day. The Cabinet’s decision was based on the recommendations of the ministerial committee, after a review of the current national honours system.

The ministerial committee to review the current national awards system was formed at the Cabinet meeting on 23 June 2009.

It was also decided that conferees of the awards will be selected by a National Awards Committee appointed by the President.

National awards for outstanding public service will be conferred at two levels – awards of honour and awards of recognition. National Awards Committee will decide the fields in which the awards will be conferred.

The Cabinet also decided that the National Awards Committee would announce the fields, nomination procedures and the selection criteria of awards on 1st August.