President Nasheed has today established provincial offices in seven regions, under the discretion accorded to the President in the Article 116 of the Constitution and with the consultation of the Cabinet. Following are the names of these seven offices.

1. Upper North Province Office
2. North Province Office
3. North Central Province Office
4. Central Province Office
5. South Central Province Office
6. Upper South Province Office
7. South Province Office

Purpose of establishing these provincial offices was to incorporate the administration of the atolls into the new administrative framework of the government.